The Wind One Brilliant Day | Antonio Machado

by Emma

(something that is touching because it touches something true
and touching because this something is no longer true
for you or for me xxo)

The wind, one brilliant day, called
to my soul with a fragrance of jasmine.

“In return for the fragrance of my jasmine,
I’d like all the fragrances of your roses.”

“I have no roses; all the flowers in my garden are dead.”

“Well then, I’ll take the withered petals and
the yellow leaves and the waters of the fountain.”

The wind left. And I wept.
And I said to myself: what have you done with the garden entrusted to you?”

Leave a Reply

