Monette & Mady

by Emma

Maja Daniels: “…Monette and Mady are identical twins. They have lived their whole life closely together and are, as they say, inseparable.

I first saw them on the streets of Paris and I was instantly fascinated by their identical outfits and synchronized corporal language. Quirky and beautiful, they stood out from any crowd. As I couldn’t quite believe my eyes, I remember thinking that they might not be real.
When I approached them I was not surprised to discover that they often finish each other’s sentences and that they refer to themselves as « I » instead of « we ».

Neither Mady nor Monette have married or had children and they always eat the same kind of food in identical portions.
They do not just share a close relationship as sisters; as a couple they act, model and dance together and the city of Paris is their main stage.
If they ever go out dressed in different outfits, people stop and ask why they argue.
When I first spotted the sisters, I wasn’t quite sure that they were real… the dreamy atmosphere is a bit like a mirage that reflects my initial impression of them.
Sometimes Monette and Mady don’t quite understand why I want to document their everyday life. It is an interesting challenge for me to make them see how fascinated I am by this symbiotic existence that is so natural to them.

Mady and Monette are indifferent to the many stereotypes that are related to aging. They have in fact long stopped celebrating their birthdays and they defy any preconceived notions related to growing old.

This series is an intimate journal of their togetherness…”

One Comment to “Monette & Mady”

  1. Reminds me of the Brothers Quay: http://www.egs.edu/faculty/stephen-timothy-quay/biography.
    They have also lived together all their lives, finish each other’s sentences and call each other ‘Quay’… and their films are super-awesome.

Leave a Reply

